Wind, strings harp, harpsichord and pianoEnsemble Obligat presents the full range of chamber music. Founded by flautist Imme-Jeanne Klett in 1995, it brought together talented young musicians in Hamburg, and has established its own unique position in the international cultural scene. It features a comprehensive range of instrumental sound and colour, presenting chamber music of all stylistic periods, sometimes in unique instrumentation. Concerts by Ensemble Obligat are characterised by inspiring choice of programme, creative ideas, and great attention to detail. Audiences can be sure of an outstanding musical experience with the very highest level of performance and lively, sensitive interpretation.

The Ensemble presents a wide range from all periods of musical history, from baroque solo and trio sonatas with harpsichord to classic flute quartets and string trios (sometimes in augmented form as string sextets), to works of the French impressionists and contemporary compositions including harp, piano, and colourful wind formations.

To mark its 25th anniversary in 2020, Ensemble Obligat Hamburg expanded to its present format – a chamber orchestra of solo instrumentalists, bringing the largest of all chamber music formations to the concert hall with nonets from all periods.

Ensemble Obligat has always been dedicated to chamber music formations which stand out both in visual impact and in sound, such as flute, harp, violin, viola and cello; or flute, viola and harp.

The declared aim of these dedicated musicians is to perform chamber music from all periods in the widest possible range of sounds and timbres. Their repertoire is carefully chosen to include compositions of rich sound and colour, from baroque music in varying formations to classical, romantic and impressionist right up to contemporary works by composers such as Sofia Gubaidulina, Xiaoyong Chen, Moritz Eggert, Nicolas Bacri, Claus Bantzer, Wolfgang Andreas Schultz, Jan Müller-Wieland, Yijie Wang and many more.

Ensemble Obligat is known for its carefully crafted and superbly executed concert programmes, including unique instrumental groupings, plus concepts such as combinations of music and the spoken word; thus Ensemble Obligat has put on celebrated concerts with well-known actors such as Christian Brückner, Maria Hartmann, Christiane Hörbiger, Christoph Bantzer and Clemens von Ramin.

Ensemble Obligat Hamburg has performed at many concerts in prestigious series both in Germany and abroad, and at numerous festivals such as the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival (1999, 2001, 2012, 2018), the Mecklenburg-West Pomerania Music Festival, the Lower Saxony Music Festival, the Hohenlohe Cultural Summer, the EuroKlassik Festival, Festival Arabesques Hamburg, China-Time Hamburg and Berlin, Corveyer Musikwochen, and many more. It can regularly be heard on radio (NDR, Deutschland Radio Kultur, HR, BR, SWR, WDR, Radio Bremen, Radio France, Radio Finland, Radio New Zealand, etc.).

It is the ensemble in residence of the outstanding and long-running OBLIGAT! chamber music festival in Hamburg (previously entitled “Summer Serenade” in the White Room at Jenisch House in Hamburg).
In response to the Corona pandemic, this Festival widened its scope of venues to include further historic houses in Hamburg – adding the Altona Museum (Galionsfigurensaal) and the Museum of Hamburg History (Inner Courtyard), and taking on the new name OBLIGAT! - Festival of Chamber Music in Hamburg.

Ensemble Obligat has released CD recordings with labels such as Dabringhaus and Grimm Detmold, GENUIN Leipzig, and C2/ES-DUR Hamburg, and made a number of recordings for NDR and Deutschlandradio Kultur, Hessischer Rundfunk and Radio Bremen.

The Ensemble is made up of principals from well-known orchestras such as the symphony orchestra of WDR Cologne, Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, Hamburg Camerata, the Hamburg Philharmonic, the Bremen Philharmonic, and professors from the Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg.

The concerts are presented by musicians from the ensemble, creating a special link between musicians and audience, and giving the listeners fascinating information about the life and work of the respective composer, so that they feel actively involved, joining the performers on a musical journey; the listeners are an essential element in the performance, “obbligato” as it were, like each of the musicians.

Musik

Bläser, Streicher, Harfe, Cembalo und Klavier - in dieser kammermusikalisch umfassenden Besetzung fanden sich im Jahre 1995 einige junge Hamburger Musiker und Musikerinnen zum Ensemble Obligat zusammen. Gegründet wurde das Ensemble, das mit umfassend besetzter Kammermusik aller Stilepochen in z. T. einzigartigen Besetzungen voller Klangvielfalt und Farbenreichtum ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal in der internationalen Kulturlandschaft inne hat, von der Flötistin Imme-Jeanne Klett. Von der Programmthematik bis zur Ausführung prägen Ideenreichtum und Liebe zum Detail die Konzerte des Ensemble Obligat. Spielerisch auf höchstem Niveau und mit lebendiger, fein abgestimmter Interpretation garantieren sie höchsten Hörgenuss.

… Noblesse oblige!

- ein verpflichtendes Kompliment an alle Musiker dieses Edel-Ensembles!…

Ein faszinierender Abend...

Harz-Kurier
Bläser, Streicher, Harfe, Cembalo und Klavier - in dieser kammermusikalisch umfassenden Besetzung fanden sich im Jahre 1995 einige junge Hamburger Musiker und Musikerinnen zum Ensemble Obligat zusammen. Gegründet wurde das Ensemble, das mit umfassend besetzter Kammermusik aller Stilepochen in z. T. einzigartigen Besetzungen voller Klangvielfalt und Farbenreichtum ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal in der internationalen Kulturlandschaft inne hat, von der Flötistin Imme-Jeanne Klett. Von der Programmthematik bis zur Ausführung prägen Ideenreichtum und Liebe zum Detail die Konzerte des Ensemble Obligat. Spielerisch auf höchstem Niveau und mit lebendiger, fein abgestimmter Interpretation garantieren sie höchsten Hörgenuss.

Das breit gefächerte Repertoire des Ensembles erstreckt sich über alle Epochen der Musikgeschichte, von den barocken Solo- und Trio-Sonaten mit Cembalo über das klassische Quartett für Flöte und Streichtrio (in erweiterter Besetzung auch als Streichsextett) bis insbesondere hin zu Werken des französischen Impressionismus und zeitgenössischen Kompositionen, die den Klang der Harfe, des Klaviers oder auch farbenreiche Bläserformationen einbeziehen.

Anlässlich seines 25jährigen Jubiläums im Jahr 2020 expandierte das Ensemble Obligat Hamburg zum solistisch besetzten Kammerorchester und bringt mit Nonetten aus allen Epochen die größte aller Kammermusik-Formationen auf die Konzertpodien.

Das Ensemble Obligat widmet sich seit seinem Gründungsjahr in besonderem Maße der akustisch und optisch herausragenden kammermusikalischen Traum-Besetzung mit Flöte, Harfe, Violine, Viola und Violoncello bzw. Flöte, Viola und Harfe.

Kammermusik sämtlicher Epochen in den unterschiedlichsten Klangfarben und Besetzungen zur Aufführung zu bringen, ist das engagierte Anliegen der Musiker.Neben Kompositionen voller Klangvielfalt und Farbenreichtum vom Barock in seinen vielfältigen Besetzungen, der Klassik, Romantik, des Impressionismus bis hin zur Moderne finden sich KomponistInnen wie Sofia Gubaidulina, Xiaoyong Chen, Moritz Eggert, Nicolas Bacri, Claus Bantzer, Wolfgang Andreas Schultz, Jan Müller-Wieland, Yijie Wang u.v.a. im reichhaltigen und sorgfältig gepflegten Repertoire des Ensembles.

Durchdachte und exquisit gestaltete Konzertprogramme in z. T. einzigartigen Besetzungen gehören dabei ebenso zum Konzept wie die Kombination von Musik und Rezitation; so konzertiert das Ensemble Obligat ebenfalls in umjubelten Konzerten mit renommierten Schauspielern wie Christian Brückner, Maria Hartmann, Christiane Hörbiger, Christoph Bantzer und Clemens von Ramin.

Das Ensemble Obligat Hamburg ist seit seiner Gründung in zahlreichen Konzerten namhafter Veranstaltungsreihen im In- und Ausland und renommierten Festivals wie zahlreich beim Schleswig-Holstein-Musikfestival (1999, 2001, 2012, 2018), den Musikfestspielen Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, den Niedersächsischen Musiktagen, dem Kultursommer Hohenlohe, dem Festival EuroKlassik, Festival Arabesques Hamburg, der China-Time Hamburg und Berlin, den Corveyer Musikwochen u.v.m. sowie regelmäßig im Rundfunk zu hören (NDR, Deutschland Radio Kultur, HR, BR, SWR, WDR, Radio Bremen, Radio France, Radio Finnland, Radio New Zealand u.a.).

Es ist ensemble in residence des exquisiten und etablierten Festivals für Kammermusik in Hamburg OBLIGAT!, ehemals der "Sommerlichen Serenade" im Weißen Saal des Jenisch Hauses Hamburg.
Ausgelöst durch die Pandemie expandierte das Festival in weitere historische Häuser in Hamburg: Jenisch Haus (Weißer Saal), Altonaer Museum (Galionsfigurensaal) und Museum für Hamburgische Geschichte (Innenhof) unter dem neuen Namen OBLIGAT ! - Festival für Kammermusik in Hamburg.

CD-Aufnahmen erschienen u.a. bei Dabringhaus und Grimm Detmold und bei GENUIN Leipzig sowie beim Label C2/ES-DUR Hamburg, mehrfach für den NDR und Deutschlandradio Kultur, den Hessischen Rundfunk und für Radio Bremen.